Nevis Department of Agriculture Honors Staff, Allied Agencies, Farmers and Fishermen for 2021 Contributions


NIA CHARLESTOWN NEVIS (May 31, 2022) — A number of former and current staff, places of business and people involved in agriculture and fisheries were recognized by the Ministry of Agriculture at an awards dinner on May 29, 2022 at the Malcolm Guishard Recreational Park Center.

The event brought down the curtains on the 10e Agriculture Awareness Month held this year under the theme:Fostering economic growth through innovation.” The month of May was dotted with a number of activities aimed at strengthening the agricultural sector on Nevis.

During the event Mr. Leroy Thompson was named 2021 Livestock Farmer of the Year; Mr. Sais Persaud as Farmer of the Year 2021; Ms. Omel Mills was named Farmer of the Year; Mr. Donald Daniel as the farmer with the most throughput in the marketing division for 2021; Mr. Mc Levon Tross as 2021 Greenhouse Grower of the Year; Mr. Alexis Browne as 2021 Angler of the Year; and Mr. Marco Tejeda as the fisherman with the most throughput at the Fisheries Complex for 2021. Mr. John Parris was honored as the Department of Agriculture’s 2022 Open House Sponsor. For the first time, the sponsor will preside over the agricultural activities organized throughout the year.

The Hermitage has been named as the hotel with the most business for 2021 with the Nevis Slaughterhouse; while the Four Seasons Resort, Nevis was named the hotel with the most business with the Department of Agriculture’s Larinson Parry Agricultural Depot for 2021.

In the supermarket category, Best Buy came out as the top seller with the Larinson Parry Agricultural Depot for 2021; while Ram’s supermarket won first place for doing the most business with the Nevis slaughterhouse for 2021.

Mr Oretius Jones has been named Nevis Slaughterhouse Highest Throughput Livestock Farmer for 2021; and Mr. Donald Daniel became the farmer with the most throughput at the Larinson Parry agricultural offset for 2021.

Recognition was also given to the Nevis Supply Office; Nevis Water Department; Department of Public Works; Department of Social Services and Nevis CraftHouse.

Meanwhile, the Quarantine Division has been named the Department of Agriculture’s Division of the Year, three years after first winning the title in 2018.

The Ministry’s Staff of the Year was also honored. Mrs. Susan Paul of the Nevis Slaughterhouse and Nassair Harvey as the most improved worker in that division; Mr. Terence Browne and Mr. Devonte Edinborough of the Veterinary/Livestock Division; Mr. Davin Smithen of the Marketing Division; Ms. Shaquimha Hanley from the Extension Division; Mr. Peter Edwards who received a special award; and Mr. Brandon Frederick, the extension division’s most improved worker.

Other winners in this category were Ms. Rhonda Sutton of the Nevis Agro-Processing Centre; Mr. Uddit Sing in the Small Agricultural Equipment Pool Unit; Ms. Aquleema Byrne from the Propagation Unit; Mr. Zoe Bendeito from the Department of Disaster Management; and Mr. Vaughn Sturge from the Department of Marine Resources.


Comments are closed.